The Best Place to Work

The Best Place to Work

The Art and Science of Creating An Extraordinary Workplace

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence.

Why do successful companies reward failure? What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace?How do you design an office that enhances both attention to detail and creativity?

In The Best Place to Work, award-winning psychologist Ron Friedman, Ph.D. uses the latest research from the fields of motivation, creativity, behavioral economics, neuroscience, and management to reveal what really makes us successful at work. Combining powerful stories with cutting edge findings, Friedman shows leaders at every level how they can use scientifically-proven techniques to promote smarter thinking, greater innovation, and stronger performance.

Among the many surprising insights, Friedman explains how learning to think like a hostage negotiator can help you defuse a workplace argument, why placing a fish bowl near your desk can elevate your thinking, and how incorporating strategic distractions into your schedule can help you reach smarter decisions. Along the way, the book introduces the inventor who created the cubicle, the president who brought down the world’s most dangerous criminal, and the teenager who single-handedly transformed professional tennisvivid stories that offer unexpected revelations on achieving workplace excellence.

Brimming with counterintuitive insights and actionable recommendations, The Best Place to Workoffers employees and executives alike game-changing advice for working smarter and turning any organizationregardless of its size, budgets, or ambitionsinto an extraordinary workplace.


Random House, Inc.
For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence.

Why do successful companies reward failure? What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace?How do you design an office that enhances both attention to detail and creativity?

In The Best Place to Work, award-winning psychologist Ron Friedman, Ph.D. uses the latest research from the fields of motivation, creativity, behavioral economics, neuroscience, and management to reveal what really makes us successful at work. Combining powerful stories with cutting edge findings, Friedman shows leaders at every level how they can use scientifically-proven techniques to promote smarter thinking, greater innovation, and stronger performance.

Among the many surprising insights, Friedman explains how learning to think like a hostage negotiator can help you diffuse a workplace argument, why placing a fish bowl near your desk can elevate your thinking, and how incorporating strategic distractions into your schedule can help you reach smarter decisions. Along the way, the book introduces the inventor who created the cubicle, the president who brought down the world’s most dangerous criminal, and the teenager who single-handedly transformed professional tennis—vivid stories that offer unexpected revelations on achieving workplace excellence.

Brimming with counterintuitive insights and actionable recommendations, The Best Place to Workoffers employees and executives alike game-changing advice for working smarter and turning any organization—regardless of its size, budgets, or ambitions—into an extraordinary workplace.

Baker & Taylor
Based on the latest research from the field of psychology, economics, neurobiology, marketing and evolutionary anthropology, an award-winning psychologist, providing counterintuitive revelation and actionable recommendations, show readers how to achieve workplace happiness, creativity and success. 30,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

Uses the latest research from the field of psychology, economics, neurobiology, marketing, and evolutionary anthropology to describe how to achieve workplace happiness, creativity, and success.

Publisher: New York, NY : Perigee Book/Penguin Group, 2014
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780399165597
0399165592
Branch Call Number: 658.3 F914b
Characteristics: xviii, 333 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

lms Jul 09, 2015

Booklist 10 ten 2015

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPHPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top