Why We Write About Ourselves

Why We Write About Ourselves

Twenty Memoirists on Why They Expose Themselves (and Others) in the Name of Literature

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam

In the voices of twenty landmark memoirists—including New York Times bestselling authors Cheryl Strayed, Sue Monk Kidd, and Pat Conroy—a definitive text on the craft of autobiographical writing, indispensable for amateur and professional writers alike.

For readers of Mary Karr’s The Art of Memoir and Judith Barrington’s Writing the Memoir, this follow-up to editor Meredith Maran’s acclaimed writers’ handbook, Why We Write, offers inspiration, encouragement, and pithy, practical advice for bloggers, journal-keepers, aspiring essayists, and memoirists.
 
Curated and edited by Maran, herself an acclaimed author and book critic, these memoirists share the lessons they’ve learned through years of honing their craft. They reveal what drives them to tell their personal stories and examine the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, these outstanding authors disclose what keeps them going, what gets in their way, and what they love most—and least—about writing about themselves.
 
“It's possible that Why We Write About Ourselves is the first compilation of memoirists at the top of their game seriously and thoughtfully considering the genre.”
– LA Times



Baker & Taylor
"What moves memoirists to make their most personal stories public? In Why We Write About Ourselves, twenty of America's most successful memoirists answer this question -- and share the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Exploring such issues as the reliability of memory, the ethics of disclosure, and how to protect others' privacy without self-censoring, these bestselling memoirists reveal what keeps them going during the tough times and what they love most -- and least -- about revealing themselves in print"--

Baker
& Taylor

"Everything an aspiring memoirist needs to know, in one readable volume, a follow-up to the acclaimed writers' handbook Why We Write For the many amateurs and professionals who write about themselves--bloggers, journal-keepers, aspiring essayists, and memoirists--this book offers inspiration, encouragement, and pithy, practical advice. Twenty of America's bestselling memoirists share their innermost thoughts and hard-earned tips with veteran author Meredith Maran, revealing what drives them to tell their personal stories, and the nuts and bolts of how they do it. Speaking frankly about issues ranging from turning oneself into an authentic, compelling character to exposing hard truths, these successful authors disclose what keeps them going, what gets in their way, and what they love most--and least--about writing about themselves"--
A follow-up to Why We Write collects insights, anecdotes and personal facts from 20 leading American memoirists to share lighthearted writing advice and thoughts about what prompts writing about one's own life. Original.
Collects insights, anecdotes, and personal facts from twenty leading American memoirists to share lighthearted writing advice and thoughts about what prompts writing about one's own life.

Publisher: New York : Plume, [2016]
ISBN: 9780142181973
0142181978
Branch Call Number: 808.06692 W622
Characteristics: xiv, 254 pages ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Maran, Meredith

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at MPHPL.

Try searching for Why We Write About Ourselves to see if MPHPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top